National Coalition of Public Safety Officers

About Us

National Coalition of Public Safety Officers

CWA's Public Safety Coalition

In 1994, the CWA Executive Board created a vehicle for public safety officers to have their own voice inside of the organization – the National Coalition of Public Safety Officers (NCPSO).

In 1994, the New Mexico Coalition of Public Safety Officers, L7911, was formed to take advantage of the state collective bargaining law. In 1996, the Tucson (AZ) Police Officers Association affiliated with NCPSO won a major representation election against the Fraternal Order of Police – this victory, followed by the affiliation of the Peoria POA, resulted in the creation of AZCOPS. Other significant affiliations have included the 300+ member Anne Arundel County MD detention officers unit in 1999, the 600+ member West Virginia Troopers Association in 2002, Salt Lake County Deputy's Federation, Nevada Association of Public Safety Officers, the 220 member unit of the Kentucky Bluegrass Community Correctional Officers Association and the 1200 plus member unit of the Arizona Correctional Peace Officers Association.

There are now more than 16,000 public safety officer CWA members. These officers include the entire range of public safety services – municipal police officers, deputy sheriffs, state police, county and state correctional officers, EMS workers, communications dispatchers, and probation officers.

NCPSO Programs and Services

NCPSO offers public safety locals a variety of organization services. Organizing is a major piece of the NCPSO program. The coalition has also assisted other CWA locals with correctional officers in Mississippi, West Virginia, Virginia , Maryland, Iowa and Oklahoma.

Follow Us!

Sign Up
Remember me